Dr. Henrik Jacobsen

Dr. Henrik Jacobsen wins the Danscatt PhD Award 2017

Friday 02 Jun 17
The winner of the Danscatt PhD Award 2017 is Dr. Henrik Jacobsen for his PhD thesis “Complex magnetic systems studied with neutron scattering”. 

Henrik Jacobsen did his PhD research at the Niels Bohr Institute at Copenhagen University and The European Spallation Source under supervision of Associate Professor Kim Lefmann and Dr. Pascale Dean.

It is a unanimous prize committee that has selected Henrik from a very strong list of nominees. The prize committee put special emphasis on the fact that Henrik with his thesis covered a wide aspect of science from chemical synthesis over design of neutron diffraction instrumentation to conducting neutron experiments and data analysis using complex theory and simulations to describe the results.

Moreover, he has worked on 25 different neutron instruments all over the world and the work in his thesis is based on more than 180 days of beam time. Henrik’s research is definitely at the very highest international level, and on the date of his PhD defense he had already published 14 scientific peer reviewed papers (whereof one in Science) and several additional papers based on his thesis work are now in preparation.

The Danscatt PhD award is given each year to an excellent young researcher, who completed a PhD thesis within the past year. The thesis work should demonstrate science at a high international level accomplished by the use of neutron or hard x-ray synchrotron/XFEL sources and/or development of new methods for acquisition, processing or interpretation of scattering data from neutron or hard x-ray synchrotron/XFEL sources. The award comes with a personal price of 5000,- kr sponsored by Xnovo Technology ApS.

News and filters

Get updated on news that match your filter.